OPHA is governed by a volunteer Board of Directors, composed of officers, two members-at-large, the Past President, the Public Policy Committee Chair, the Membership Committee Chair, and the Student Caucus Chair. 

  • The ARGC Affiliate Representative is appointed by the President for a three-year term. 

  • The Public Policy Committee Chair and the Membership Committee Chair are appointed by the President for a one-year term. 

  • The Student Caucus Chair is appointed by members of the Student Caucus.  

  • All other members of the Board are elected by the OPHA membership.

The thirteen section/caucus chairs are elected by the membership their respective sections/caucuses.  The two Section/Caucus reps are responsible for maintaining open and fluid communication between the Board of Directors and the sections/caucuses so the "voice" of the sections/caucuses is heard and actively engaged within all decisions taken by the Board of Directors.


Emilia Hart

Emilia Hart currently serves as President  and Communications Chair for the
Oklahoma Public Health Association Board of Directors. She runs Smart Bites
Oklahoma, a wellness and nutrition coaching business in Norman. She is
bookkeeping and administrative professional for Urban Agrarian, a local
food hub dedicated to connecting consumers with locally grown and produced

She spent eight years in communications before obtaining her nutrition certificate and
launching her wellness coaching business. Throughout her time coaching nutrition and
wellness clients, she became increasingly aware of the health disparities that plague
Oklahomans, particularly regarding access to high quality food and healthcare. This
sparked her interest in community nutrition and public health, and inspired her to
begin a master's program for nutrition and dietetics.

She received her BS in Agricultural Communications from Oklahoma State University
in 2007 and her nutrition coaching certificate in 2014 from the Nutritional Therapy
Association. She is currently pursuing her Master's in Applied Nutrition with the 
Sustainable Nutrition pathway through the University of New England.

Aundria Goree, MPH, LSSGB

Aundria has served in the field of public health since 2007, serving poor
and marginalized populations on an individual, community, and policy level.
Aundria’ s strength is in building cross-sector collaborations between private
sectors, academia, government, faith-based, and community agencies, to
improve the health and well-being of vulnerable populations in Oklahoma.

Aundria serves at Mercy Hospital, as the Director for Mission and Community
Health. She oversees integration of Mercy CHWs in Oklahoma Emergency
Departments and Clinics, Mercy Hospital's Community Benefits/ 501r
compliance, and Diabetes Prevention programming.

Aundria’s leadership extends into the realm of community service. Aundria
serves as President of the Oklahoma Public Health Association (OPHA), as
well as a committee member of the Oklahoma Community Health Taskforce,
and the Central Oklahoma Health Impact Team (COHIT). Most recently, Aundria
was selected as one of Journal Records 2020 Achiever’s under 40, for her current
contributions to improving the lives of Oklahoma residents.

DJ McMaughan, Ph.D.
Tracy Freudenthaler, Ph.D. 
Kamisha Busby
Yanet Trejo

Yanet Trejo is the Community Outreach Coordinator at the Oklahoma
City-County Health Department. She has served in the field of public
health for 8 years and is committed to building cross-sector partnerships
to co-design innovative projects, that will help make a positive impact in the
community. Yanet’s major roles include overseeing the Wellness Now Coalition,
bridging connections between Latino community and institutions/organizations
in Oklahoma County, and coordinating community efforts such as the Mobile Markets in food desserts and Open Streets.

She believes, together we can help improve health outcomes. Although many organizations' work or focus may be in different areas of health, we all have
one thing in common: we work to improve the health and well-being of our communities. She also believes that partnerships are vital in addressing health inequalities.

      2021-2022 BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Past President - Aundria Goree, MPH, LSSGB

Members-at-Large - Shelly Patterson, MPH and Velvet Brown-Watts

Public Policy Committee Chair - DJ McMaughan, Ph.D.

Membership Committee Chair - Shelly Patterson, MPH

Section/Caucus Rep - Vacant

Student Caucus Rep - Vacant

           2020-2021 COMMITTEES
Board Governance Chair- Vacant
Membership Chair-  vacant
Resource Development- vacant
Public Policy Chair- DJ McMaughan
Conference Planning Chair- Emilia Hart
PR/Marketing Chair - Emilia Hart
Finance Chair- Kamisha Busby
Awards Chair- vacant
Scholarship- vacant
Program Development-vacant



Oklahoma Public Health Association
121 NE 52nd Street, Ste. 260
Oklahoma City, OK 73105

The OPHA office is open Monday - Friday from 8:00 AM - 12:00 PM, excluding state holidays.